Welcome to the website of


Baildon Belles

Women's Institute


Jam and Jerusalem? Not necessarily! Think flavoured vodka and flamenco, and you get a little closer to the preoccupations of a Baildon Belle. Find out more...


I hope you find our website interesting and informative. We'll be updating it over the next few months so please keep coming back!

Sara x

President of Baildon Belles Women's Institute

Diary

Here's our programme of events for 2018. We've worked hard on it so we hope you like it! You can pick up a printed copy of the programme at any meeting. Remember that, as well as the events listed here, we also have a number of offshoots, including a running club and a book club.


Our regular monthly meetings on the last Thursday of each month are listed, as well as other events we are either organising or involved in. You should keep checking the site for information on the latest events as we'll be adding more as the year unfolds. Find out more about where and when we meet...

Thursday 25 January

Clue done it?

A grisly murder is committed at Dr Noir’s glamorous party. But who did it?

Thursday 22 February

AGM and social

Our 9th AGM with fun quiz and sociable supper.

Thursday 29 March

Ladybird books

‘Wartime housewife’ and author Biff Raven-Hill shares her collection of iconic books.

Thursday 26 April

Drumming workshop

Make some noise in our fun percussion workshop.

Thursday 31 May

Hoop embroidery

Needlepoint novice or expert cross stitcher, you’ll enjoy this introduction to hoop embroidery.

Wednesday 6 June

NFWI AGM

Annual meeting in Cardiff.

Thursday 28 June

Colour consultation

Find the shades & styles which suit you best with expert Tina Petty.

Saturday 14 July

Baildon Carnival

Helpers needed for our famous tea tent & biggest fundraiser.

Thursday 26 July

A is for arson

In the centenary year of votes for women, Cat Crossley will give us an A-Z of suffragette militancy.

Saturday 28 July

Farmers market stall

Thursday 30 August

Summer stroll

Baildon Walkers are Welcome take us on a local wander.

Thursday 27 September

Forensic science

Crime scene basics including fingerprinting with Think Forensic.

19 & 20 October

Trip away

Our annual weekend away!

Thursday 25 October

Gin tasting

Sample a selection of gins and enter our boozy bakes competition.

Thursday 29 November

Festive food

Make and take away your own figgy pudding plus other festive fare.

Sunday 2 December

Baildon at Christmas

Baildon Belles will provide refreshments amidst the festive fun.

Saturday 8 December

Christmas do

We’re returning to Hoyle Court for a glamorous festive party.